ConsumersRevenge.Com™


Global Readers Service - Global Theft??

name: J. T.

city: 12477

problem: 01/09/2003

Global Readers or whatever they are calling themselves today. Almost three years ago I started handeling all the bills for my fiance. Global readers was one of his bills. Since he worked nights and they would call early in the morning when he was half asleep, he had no idea what it was. I contacted them to find out who they were and what their service was. After they told me they were a readers service, I asked to cancel the account. They told me I needed to pay it off to cancel and I would no longer receive the magazines. I was fine with that and agreed to pay it off. Continued paying the bill until it was paid in full...or so I thought. After we were married, we moved into a new apartment and the address on the global readers bill was changed. I received a few phone calls and informed them that I had paid the bill. Heard nothing else. A few months later there was a deduction from my husbands checking account from them. We quickly cancelled the account. A year and a half ago, we purchased a house and moved. This past weekend I got a call from global readers stating that we owed them 6 payments of $49.95. I said this account was cancelled and pay in full almost two years ago. I then asked for the address on the account, it was for the apartment we have not lived in for a year and a half. I got another call tonight and when I started yelling at the man HE HUNG UP ON ME!!!! When I came on line and read these other stories I was amazed. Please help me - what should I do!!!!


name: M. P.

city: 98115

problem: 12/27/2002

Gee guess....It's another global readers pain in the rear!!. I should preface my experiance by saying that when I made the mistake of thinking it would be a good idea to order magazines through Those bastards it was over a year ago, they were calling themselves Magazine Subscription Company. I was shocked to see the charges racking up on my credit card from them and I wanted to find out what was what. I called last November, asking about two charges for $58.04 IN THE SAME MONTH!?! They told me that it was all explained to me in the contract they had sent me, and since I didn't cancel within 10 days I was stuck. I explained to them vigorously that I never received said contract for review, and that I couldn't possibly afford the ridiculous amounts they were charging. I thought I was through when they refunded the two charges,on Nov. 23rd 01 and telling me my agreement with them was cancelled. they told me that I would continue receiving the magazines because the subscriptions were prepaid and that I was just lucky this time. Well, my luck ran out when they called me last night at 7pm pst, saying that I could receive magazines at 'substantial savings', with payments of only "3.99 a week billed three months at a time". I was in the middle of trying to organize the house after Christmas and trying to get to sleep for work that night when they called. With my original experiance with them being over a year ago and my distraction at home, my gaurd was down. I listened to 3 different people give me the sales pitch, not recognizing the trap. It all sounded great untill the 2nd to the last person I talked to said that I would be responsible for 26 payments of $49.95. Of course nobody mentioned the 26 payments of $49.95 when the the first 2 sales monsters were talking. It was at the point that I heard 26 payments of $49.95 when I said absolutely not. At that point she transfered me to the billings supervisor who started to go into this line of BS of how I had made this "verbal contract", when I denied that, interupting him, he started to yell at me how I would regret interupting him. I asked him if he was threatening me, to which he said, I have your credit card number and that if I didn't honor the verbal contract I had with them, to which I said there was no contract, he said that he would "charge all 26 payments right now, 3..2..1.., ok I just did it" and the a*#hole HUNG UP! I spent most of that evening on the phone with my credit card company, and on the internet trying to find out who it was who had just not only been so rude to me but was making unauthorized transactions on my card! I finally got some phone numbers and have left several messages, not one has been returned, and I am like screw this, I am not going to waste another minute of my time on this, unless it is totally required. Folks, there may be an easier way to get these crooks to screw the pooch so to speak. I have already contacted my state attorney generals office, and I suggest you all do the same. Sure you can sue if you all want, and these subhumans are worthy of such a discomfort, but that takes alot of effort. Try to get the system to work for you. Try your state AG's office, also try the Federal Trade Commission. Good luck, I hope these avenues work, if not then i might try the private attorney route


name: T. M.

city: 02726

problem: 11/24/2002

This is a complaint about Readers Services or Nadine Media which are the names they gave me. But when my Credit Card was billed the name was Global Readers Club.They called on 11/20/2002 and said because I was such a loyal customer that they were lowering my payments and sending me a free watch. I have never agreed to buy any magazines from them and never has my credit card been charged. I spoke to a R. P. who informed that I have made 5 payments so far and this would be my sixth payment. NOT TRUE!!This person said I agreed to this back in June of 2002. When I informed her that I have never made any payments or received any magazine, she told me it takes over 180 days to begin the process. Well just to prove that this may be true, she needed my credit card number to verify that she had the correct person. Foolishly I gave her my credit card number.Big Mistake on my part. I asked to hear the recording of me agreeing to this back in June. She said she could'nt do that but she would send it to me .I'm still waiting for that mail. But only one day later after that call ,my credit card was charged for $49.95. I am at a loss about what to do or where to turn. I know I gave out too much personal information but this company has taken advantage and tricked me into giving that information to them. I gave her my work phone number after she said that if I gave her my work number, then no one else could call me. What????I keep insisting during the call that I never ordered magazines and R. P. kept yelling that yes I did order.I could not get through to her.I want to cancel this order and have my charges refunded. Thank you.


name: A. M.

city: 02790

problem: 11/13/2002

I have a problem with "Global Readers". We entered into a contract with them 4 yrs ago completed it 3 yrs ago. and after all this time have recieved calls the last three days about our pass due account which whch they say we have only paid half. Now how can a company run when they apparently let the account laps for 3 or so years. We had to dig through the achives to find proof of pay off, which we have. When challenaged for a statement from there company the company person would hang up. So if this is really true they should stay on the phone and get te paperwork going. Other than that it is hard to get money from a rock. When they call time first things first we will get there name, supervisor name, address, and return number. Even if they could charge a card the company has freud dept that lives for this stuff. I wish no one gets putted into this ever again. Beware of a good deal.


name: A. G.

city: 90069

problem: 10/30/2002

I signed up with Global Readers magazine subscription company a number of years back. Since the service continues for five years, its tough to keep track of if I'm receiving all the magazines or not. Regardless, I havent heard from them in a while and to my knowledge had completed the payment cycle a long time ago. Out of the blue, I get a call today saying I owe them the last six payments on the account. According to them, I had made six payments originally when I started the membership, which is total "horse hockey" and now I owe them the final six. I told the CSR that his records were completely innacurate and he said he would check them and then hung up. These guys must just randomly call off of their membership lists and try to scam people out of additional monies! What a racket!


name: M. F.

city: 14428

problem: 10/29/2002

Received no less than 6 calls within an hour from Global Reader Service - some autodial hangups. 6th Call operator used obscene language. Our number is already listed with the "Do Not Call Directory" yet still we get their calls! Repeatedly asked them not to call. Filled repeated complaints with the FCC and FTC regarding the practices of the Global Reader Service. Does anyone know how to stop their incessant calling!!!


name: D. T.

city: 75423

problem: 08/16/2002

I have a problem with global readers. They claim that I ordered magazines back in 1997 and so they called me last week and informed that I had a balance of 500$ to pay or else they would send it to the credit bureau !!!!!! . Now here is my problem , first of all I dont and I've never bought any magazines in my entire life , second the only time I read magazines is when I go to the doctor or the dentist office . Third I wasnt even in the Country from 1996 till 1999 because I was studying Australia !!!!!!!!. Would someone please help me out in suing these people for constant harrasment


name: Witheld

city: 46391

problem: 08/12/2002

Getting calls since 1997 (it's now 2002!) from collections. Cancelled on a timely manner. NEVER GOT MAGAZINES! still calling. Talked to them by phone to many times. STILL CALLING!! their numbers are:
888-480-6363
888-435-6767
Write down/record conversations!


name: G. ?.

city: 66801

problem: 05/28/2002

I had a subscription with Global Readers. I am paying ATL of Atlanta, which is the same company for magazines. And they just called me today at work, to let me know that I have to pay them 500.00 Yet,I haven't heard from them in 2 years.


name: M. C.

city: 06460

problem: 04/03/2002

My problem is with Global Readers Club. If anything I want them to be shut down so they don't get another person to agree to get magazines from them. How can it cost fifty dollars a month? They are robbing people blind. Is anyone doing anything. I am looking every thing I can to see how I can myself out of this. Why are we just complaining...why don't we do something?


name: R. D.

city: -------

problem: 01/19/2002

I got hooked into a contract by Global Reader's Service. They say they can't cancell the subscriptions because they are prepaid. Now I get charged monthly to pay for a bill they charged on my behalf with the publishers of the magazines. Worst part is they still call and ask me to extend the contract. I want to cancel but they say I owe them the balance. I want to warn any one out there not to use a third party service. They promised a free gift which I have never received. Entered me in contests that I have never seen the results in a positive sense.


name: V. D.

city: -------

problem: 11/08/2001

I HAVE ALSO HAD A RUN IN WITH GLOBAL READERS. I OPENED MY ACCOUNT WITH THEM OVER A YEAR AGO, MADE MY PAYMENTS BY CHECK AND PAID MY ACCOUNT IN FULL. I RECEIVED A CALL ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO THAT I STILL OWED THEM 6 PAYMENTS OF 49.95. I EXPLAINED TO THEM THAT I HAD PAID MY ACCOUNT IN FULL AND HAD THE CANCELLED CHECKS TO PROVE IT. I HAVEN'T HEARD ANY MORE FROM THEM, BUT FROM THE THINGS I HAVE READ ABOUT THEM I'M SURE I WILL PROBABLY HEAR FROM THEM AGAIN. HOW CAN PEOPLE TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OTHER PEOPLE LIKE THAT?


name: R. ?.

city: -------

problem: 11/02/2001

I would like to warn your viewers that the company Global Readers was also formerly known as Readers Choice, and have yet again changed their name to Aeon Corporation. I know this, because I my wife used to work for them up until 2 days ago.


name: ???

city: ???

problem: 10/31/2001

I have had numerous problems with Global Readers Service and ran across the address and phone number of thier corporate office. I know many of you would like it so here ya go.

Global Readers Service
1996 W 3rd St
CLEVELAND, OH 44113-2525
(216) 241-2277


name: M. L.

city: 49441

problem: 10/14/2001

I subscribed to Global Readers. I regret doing so. I started in May '99 with their magazine subscription service. They claimed that I renewed my subscription in May of 2000. Which I deny. I paid it anyway cause I didn't know what else to do. And I couldn't afford to stop them. This renewal made no sense since I had an 18 month subscription the first time I 'ordered'. A year later May 2001, I received a phone call about my account being paid in full and I told them in no uncertain terms I wanted nothing to do with them. I had received 4 calls since then, telling me each time that 'Congratulations, your account is paid in full, offering renewals and I said no each time. Today 10/14/2001 I received a call telling me they cannot close my account because 5 credit card transactions had been declined of @49.00 a piece and that they will forgive 4 of them if I send them one payment of $49.00 so they can close my account. I told them if 4 calls telling me my account is closed that I will not acknowledge their accounting department mistakes I plan on yelling more next time. If they call a collection agency I will call that agency and ask them to stop. I just might take out a loan and sue Global Readers for the cost of the loan, to pay for the court fees, lawyer fees, and time wasting. I would rather give a lawyer $5,000 then give Global Readers $50. I have a tape recorder hooked up to my phone. If a Global Readers employee is reading this, get a job cleaning toilets or flipping burgers, there's so much more dignity in that then in your current job. Consider your reputation... Aren't you tired of being yelled at on the phone, put yourself in the shoes of these testimonies. Get another job. Or help us out by making it easy to cancel our accounts. PLEASE!!!!! If you cant afford to quit, at least get paid closing out our accounts.


name: M. L.

city: 49441

problem: 10/14/2001

I subscribed to Global Readers. I regret doing so. I started in May '99 with their magazine subscription service. They claimed that I renewed my subscription in May of 2000. Which I deny. I paid it anyway cause I didn't know what else to do. And I couldn't afford to stop them. This renewal made no sense since I had an 18 month subscription the first time I 'ordered'. A year later May 2001, I received a phone call about my account being paid in full and I told them in no uncertain terms I wanted nothing to do with them. I had received 4 calls since then, telling me each time that 'Congratulations, your account is paid in full, offering renewals and I said no each time. Today 10/14/2001 I received a call telling me they cannot close my account because 5 credit card transactions had been declined of @49.00 a piece and that they will forgive 4 of them if I send them one payment of $49.00 so they can close my account. I told them if 4 calls telling me my account is closed that I will not acknowledge their accounting department mistakes I plan on yelling more next time. If they call a collection agency I will call that agency and ask them to stop. I just might take out a loan and sue Global Readers for the cost of the loan, to pay for the court fees, lawyer fees, and time wasting. I would rather give a lawyer $5,000 then give Global Readers $50. I have a tape recorder hooked up to my phone. If a Global Readers employee is reading this, get a job cleaning toilets or flipping burgers, there's so much more dignity in that then in your current job. Consider your reputation... Aren't you tired of being yelled at on the phone, put yourself in the shoes of these testimonies. Get another job. Or help us out by making it easy to cancel our accounts. PLEASE!!!!! If you cant afford to quit, at least get paid closing out our accounts.


name: J. ?.

city: 66713

problem: 10/10/2001

My complaint is with Global Readers. In early 1999, I received a phone call saying that I was picked to receive a free, big prize, like a trip. Since, I was about to be married, I thought it was awesome. Then, she proceeded to tell me that I needed to subscribe to some magazines. I didn't really understand the terms, but she said it was no big deal and I agreed to sign up. When the information packet was sent to me, after I was already married and I obviously had not won the big prize or any prize for that matter, I read it and decided that it was not for us. I read on the agreement where you could cancel within so many days, and I did. I then received a phone call saying I could not cancel, but they would cut my subscription short. Blah, blah, blah...fastforward a year and we quit receiving our weekly magazine and never received it again. When they called, I told them we weren't receiving it, and I wasn't going to pay for something I hadn't gotten in a few months. In March of 2000, GRS made an unauthorized charge in the amount they said was due, to our credit card. We have since cancelled the card. I called GRS and asked them about it, and they said our account was paid in full. I said, are you sure, and they said yes. Blah, blah, blah...fastforward over 1 year and one baby later, we have begun to receive calls saying we owe them our last 6 payments. I told them I'm not paying money we don't owe, and the little lady got pretty rude with me, so I gave her my lawyer's phone number, and even called our old credit card company and got a copy of the statement where they made the charge to our card. I HATE GLOBAL READERS!!!!!!!!!! If anyone is going to do something, like file a class action law suit, let me know!!!!!!!!!


name: T. C.

city: 98012

problem: 08/24/2001

Originally, years ago I was 'snowed' into an account with Global Readers.

I tried cancelling a month after I started getting a FLOOD of magazines. They told me I could not cancel. What else could I do except start warning friends.

These are some things they have done to me.

1. They threatened to close my account if I refused payment and send the enitre 5 year bill to a collection agency.

2. They Cancel magazine subscriptions and never notify you that the magazine was cancelled. They just stop sending it. (Not a very good value if you ask me.)

3. They Sold my address and information to many, many thrid party telemarketers. My mailbox at home is full of advertising for at least the last two years.

4. They put me on their automated dialing system. I was recieving a phone call every morning at 6:05 AM PST. It was so realiable, I stopped setting my alarm clock!! They told me I was lying four times when I tried to get this fixed, that there was no way their computers could dial my phone number at that hour. One day, a guy named George who works there, was sleeping on the job. The auto dailer called me, and George didn't hang up fast enough. i started yelling at him "DONT HANG UP!!!" He didn't, and after a call later that afternoon to Global Readers proving that they were calling me, the phone calls promptly stopped.

There are good things about the 'subscription service' as they have termed themselves. Every time I call to make changes to my magazines, they are always changed, and often the vendor never stops sending the cancelled subscription!... Sometimes I am getting a dozen magazines at once! ;-)

The customer service, if you do not have a complaint, is generally OK. But still, If you have recieved a phone call from them and it has been less than 72 hours, call

1-888-435-6767 immediatly and cancel.

RECORD YOUR PHONECALLS!!!
RECORD YOUR PHONECALLS!!!
RECORD YOUR PHONECALLS!!!

Also, you can call 1-888-480-6363. It's another number to get into the customer service area with out going throug the menus.

Final Score: Stay away from this company. You will pay dearly for about 2 to 3 years, then everything is OK for the last 2 to 3 years.


name: J. D.

city: 99208

problem: 08/01/2001

My problem is with global readers they have been harassing me for monthes with no intent on giving up, just this morning they called and woke me up at 7 am and bothered me about a payment I told the lady that I needed to speak with your manager. She said he wasnt in then I asked for a number to call back at she wouldnt give me that either. I need help Im not about to change my life because of some scam that nobody wants to do something about im sick of it. I cancelled my credit cards because of them because they charged my account a few times a month and Its gotten me into financial problems. There is no way out unless we all get together and file a class action lawsuit. Watch out Global Readers, you messed with the wrong person this time.

Please include my email address also with my complaint thanks,
jimd@raiscada.com


name: M. R.

city: 98422

problem: 04/02/2001

Global Readers Service...As noted by the numerous other complainers, these people have their questionable business practices refined to an art.

I also took a call, in the midst of yelling kids and my attempt to cook dinner and finally said "yeah, whatever." When I received a letter that asked me to choose my "free prize," I checked the box that said I decline the prize and signed the line that said I wanted to cancel the whole thing.

Shortly after that, magazines started arriving. I called the customer service number and was told that "you can't cancel." Well, it's going to cost me a bunch of time and hassle to do anything about it, which I am sure is included in their rationale for doing things this way... I was fooled, and I feel foolish, but at least I can tell someone else about this company. Save yourself a lot of headache and hang up on 'em!


name: S. S.

city: 20722

problem: 01/10/2001

Global Readers Resolves Complaint!!!

You said to let you know if I ever got this straightened out...well, I did.

I called Global Readers Service again (and recorded the call) and got the information out of them that they had sent the subscription renewal to an outfit called National Publishers Exchange. GRS declined to give me their phone number. So I searched the Internet and found they had a web site. I contacted them and they sent me a nice e-mail back saying they had received the renewal and would be sending it on to Soap Opera Digest. In a couple of weeks, the renewal appeared on my mailing label.

Thank you for your help, though. I have learned a lesson. Do not renew through any other agency...just the magazine itself.


name: D. B.

city: 20814

problem: 01/25/2001

Global Readers:

(1) Refused to cancel order @$49.00 per month for magazines when I called back to explain I did not understand this was a charge for two years, every month. They played back a tape and said I agreed to the payment schedule and refused to cooperate. They call at dinner time.

(2) Global Readers sold my information regarding which magazines I ordered and my credit card number to a company called International Sweepstakes in Toronto, CN. I received a call from an accounting firm in Toronto saying I won $50,000 from my Global Readers subscription and read me the credit card number and magazines. The accounting firm wanted $2000 via Western Union to pay the taxes on the $50,000. Another scam from Global Readers.


name: S. S.

city: 84770

problem: 01/16/2001

I just got bitten by Global Readers Service. They called me in Nov 00 and said they were offering me a great renewal on my Soap Opera Digest subscription. The last time I renewed through Elite Periodicals, and it worked great (even got a couple of free magazines for a year). I gave Global Readers Service my Discover card number and they charged my account for $132 for a 2-year renewal from Sep 01 to Sep 03. This is 16 Jan 01 and my mailing label still reads Sep 01. I called Global Readers Service, and they said the label should reflect the new expiration date soon. I contacted Soap Opera Digest, and they have no renewal notice. What is my recourse? This is telephone fraud.


name: F. M.

city: 20722

problem: 01/10/2001

I am trying to contact Global Reader Services to cancel my subscription. Do you have an address/phone number/e-mail for them? Thank you!


name: B. S.

city: Alabama

problem: 01/06/2001

I have had the same problems with Global Readers Club that everyone else explains. I am in the military and came home from a deployment to discover that my wife had bought a magazine from a child selling them through school. 1 magazine. But that list was sent to GRC, who called her and said there was a problem with the check. They read the checking account information to her, asked her to repeat it, and asked if they could charge $3.88 to her account. She did - I listened to the recording. They have charged $49 a month since then until we moved and I closed that account.

Now I have a similar issue coming from International Readers League of Atlanta, who is charging $25.83 a month. I think IRL got my name from GRC. Anyways, I was able to dig up some info on IRL that I am using to stop my account, and wanted to post it for others.

International Readers League
Proprietor is Mr. Robert M. Bercik
3145 Reps Miller Road
Norcross, GA 30071-1417
(770) 734-9232
(770) 441-3970

Another address is:
PO Box 922189
Norcross, GA 30092

There have been several suits filed against this company for these type practices. Anyone can find them by doing a search for "International Readers League" (leave the quotes in place) on AltaVista. Here are two pertinent URL's for more info on IRL of Atlanta:

http://www.cslib.org/attygenl/asksum1.htm
http://augustachronicle.com/stories/071697/biz_scam.html

Yours,
B.S. of Birmingham, Alabama


name: J. G.

city: 55344

problem: 01/03/2001

Global Readers Services called me at my home and told me that my Time Magazine subscription was soon to expire. I thought the Time magazine company was calling me as they had information that ONLY that company should know. My name, phone number, that I had a subscription to Time magazine and that it was soon to expire; therefore, I trusted that I was dealing with the company that had given me excellent service. I agreed to give them a check-by-phone #6085. They have the money and Time company has not received ANYTHING. My subscription has expired. This company always promises to do something, but does nothing. Always verbal promises and when I ask for it in writing they say they will do it, but of course I never receive it. They say they do not refund any money. Please help me get my money back.


name: M. L.

city: 85281

problem: 10/12/2000

I have also had a ton of problems with Global Readers. My husband was duped by these people and now we have a "five year subscription for five different magazines". Who knows if this is true or not. Time will tell. For anyone who is still paying for magazines- Yelling works. This is something I really hate to do. I always let them know that I plan on yelling also. I will ask "May I please speak to the highest ranked person there because I plan on yelling and, well the person who gets paid the most is the one that should have to deal with me." I always get the top person. I have been told that certain things can not change, but lo and behold they can, with persistance.

Beware also with this company that if you decide to pay by check, you may get charged a late fee. If you pay early they have a way that screws up your credit card and then manages to charge you a late fee.

The company is one of the worst I have ever encountered. At least my husband now knows to say No!


name: J. P.

city: 22152

problem: 08/09/2000

Global Readers called me and misrepresented themselves. I belong to a magazine subscription with DMS magazines. Global Readers called me telling me that they are their billing company and affiliate. They told me they needed to verify my credit card number. I gave it to them. When I hung up the phone I felt it was strange to call again so I called DMS magazines and asked them why they kept having people call me when they already recieved my information. They said they do not belong or are not affiliated with Global Readers. I quickly called my Visa company and they told me the charge was already there. This was 5 minutes after speaking with the representative at Global Readers. I have canceled the card and tried calling Global Readers. I called the number left on my caller ID, it either has no answer or someone calls and hangs up. I called information and no number exists for this company. I have read the other complaints and I hope that my credit card company listens to my dispute.


name: S. S.

city: 18103

problem: 07/14/2000

I have also had issues with the Global Readers Club (Service) as other persons have complained about. Their customer service on billing issues is non existent. They are very good at being very confusing in their phone conversations and mislead you as to what you are receiving. WhenI tried to call them to dispute a bill they argued with me for an hour and even had the guts to play back the original phone call. No where did they own up to being misleading in their phone conversation. After asking to speak to the person's supervisor I was told I was talking to the highest up person in that department, who was no help at all! I could go on and on about how incompetent this company is. I am very displeased with them.


name: M. P.

city: 97527

problem: 07/05/2000

Global Reader's Club--

Called at 7:30 in the morning (pet insurance sales). Told me about a woman's dog who had swallowed a razor blade. Said that I would not be charged, but they needed credit card number to send out information on pet insurance. I was dumb, but remember it was 7:30 in the morning.

Charged credit card. I "cancelled" policy 2 months ago--still showing up on bill. go figure.


name: T. H.

city: 17042

problem: 06/24/2000

Global Readers called me at work!


name: D. C.

city: 97527

problem: 01/09/2000

A tele-marketer called me at home when I was very distracted. They offered me magazines, which I did not want, for $3.88. At no time did they tell me the total cost of their "service". I was led to believe that it would be a one-time charge. Lo and behold, they continue to bill my Visa card each and every month even though I cancelled the transaction, lawfully, by certified mail with return reciept requested. They recieved the notice. I have the proof of this, yet they continue to bill my credit card.

The company's name is Global Readers Service. I have had no satisfaction with their company reps, they keep telling me that this cannot be cancelled, contrary to consumer law in my state.


UPDATE - Monday, February 28, 2000

I am still trying to get 'Global Readers Service' to honor my lawful, timely cancellation of their 'services'. The last time I had phone contact with one of their reps they hung up on me as soon as they realized I was calling about a cancellation. Honest to god, she hung up on me!!!! *click* I wish I had done the same when they called me...... But everytime I call they tell me there is no record of a cancellation, and I will have to speak to someone else. I know better, I have the proof that they got it, or are they calling the USPS a liar??

They have billed my Visa card for 3 months now, for almost $150.00. They owe me a credit now, think they will take my calls?? Hee,Hee.

My other beef is with Aria Visa Card. I let them know from day one that this was a disputed charge, and that 'Global Readers Service' was not authorized by me to make any charges to my card. Not only have they continued to allow them to rip me off, but I now suspect that they sold my name to these charlatains in the first place.


UPDATE - Tuesday, February 29, 2000

Hiya Andy: I e-mailed you a couple of months ago about my experience with 'Global Readers Service'. I had cancelled this transaction lawfully, by certified mail, return receipt. They got the cancelation in a timely fashion, by their own guidelines, and I have the return receit to prove it. However....they did not honor the cancellation but have continued to bill my Visa card for $49.92 a month for 3 months. I contacted my Visa company that they were not athuorized to bill my account, but they allowed the charges anyway. This went on for 3 months!!! I kept calling the Visa company, explained the disputed charges to them, they would say no problem(even after I filled out a form out-lining the dispute to them), we will take it off your bill. Apparently, after all this time my Visa company has taken the dispute to heart and cut them off.

How do I know this?

A rep from the collections department of Global Readers called me tonight at home.

Is this Dalee?

yes, can I help you? I am from Global Readers Collection Department.

I cancelled this transaction 3 months ago and your company has taken money from my Visa card, they owe me $150.00 dollars, why are you calling me?

I have no idea mam'm, you have a nice evening!



If you have had any problems with this company, please file a complaint report we will add your comments to these. Conversly, you may send positive comments and they will be added as well.